Tuesday, October 30, 2007

2007-10-30

  • Running 2-4 miles now every day, had a little soreness in left hammy the other day so eased up a bit. Ran a lunchtime 2 miler today! 17:13.
  • Wrote this yesterday about my weekend running
  • 29 Oct 2007 - running/workout update:
    Ever run sprints? I want to run more after the streak; it’s fun hauling ass for a half lap or so! Can’t believe I ran 1/8 mile in 38 sec this weekend, or 5:04 pace! I was almost running at top speed, but I didn’t want to pull anything. One pulled muscle and my streak dies, so I won’t be doing too much sprinting for now. I’d also like to try to run a mile as fast as I can later too. I think I can run a 6-minute mile, or even better. My cardio kicks ass and I recover in breathing quicker too now. And this weekend I got down to 217 lbs. I can feel a difference from the 237 lbs I weighed 6 months ago. Man if I can get down to 185 lbs again I am gonna fucking fly!

    But until the streak ends I am focusing on diet and moderate-intensity workouts. I set up a new heavy back in the basement this weekend, attached to the rafters and added support beams. It’s a 100-lb Everlast bag, $84 from Shenk and Tittle (I said “Tit”!), and is hanging in the office in the basement (the room behind the mancave). I also moved the tread back in there and put a TV mount on the wall. And the pull-up bar and weights are in there; it’s a cool little 1-man gym! I watched Leaving Las Vegas today on the tread and had no BPM music. I checked my timing and I was 176 and 180 BPM the whole way; so I think it’s inscribed into my genetic code now! My livelihood depends on it!

    Had a long day yesterday and never got around to eating anything but a banana until evening. I ran 3 miles on the track, with sprints and intervals (28:54). And walked 1.25 miles on top of that (21:30). Then I cleared out the basement, moving everything around with Deb, installed the TV mount on the wall, added a splitter and ran coax cable, and hung the heavy bag with support beams I had to saw and screw in. Then had a good bag workout beating the fuck out of the bag with punches, spinning backfists and kicks over my head. I was wiped out. When I finally got a shower and relaxed to watch football, this is when I would normally eat poorly. Chinese, or pizza, or worse. Not yesterday! I had seltzer and a can of sardines, on 2 sandwiches – Thomas’ mini whole wheat bagel squares, a salad, and 2 apples. Yay! Slept like a rock and had to fast until the blood test today. So I only ran a mile today so far (8:37 = 7mph). My blood work should really improve this time: good diet, exercise every day, and no smoking since last blood test – first time ever! Results at Dr.’s office in 1 week. Crossing fingers!

    108 days left in the streak!

No comments: